QUICKmedicine app

About the information resource

FREE subscriptions for doctors and students... click here
You have 3 open access pages.


GPnotebook (QUICKmedicine) is a system designed to provide a concise synopsis of the entire field of clinical medicine with material organised systematically to ensure rapid retrieval of information.

The content of GPnotebook (QUICKmedicine) is based on clinical practice in the United Kingdom and provides a clinical reference for general practitioners and medical students; it may also be a useful reference resource for other health professionals. As well as being a clinical reference, GPnotebook (QUICKmedicine) also aims to be a tool for clinical education, clinical governance and continuing professional development.

The system was conceived whilst six of the seven principal authors were medical students in the early 1990s. One of the student authors was at Cambridge University medical school and the remaining five were students at Oxford University medical school. The system became a shared repository of clinical knowledge for the group and became a resource that was used in the Cairns Library at Oxford University as a reference resource for medical students.

In 1995, whilst four of the authors were still medical students, a rudimentary version of the database was published on floppy disks by Butterworth Heinemann. Also the database was awarded the prestigious Perry prize by the Primary Care Specialist Group of the British Computer Society in 1992 and 2002.

The system content is continually updated and expanded. The database now comprises over 1.8 million words of information which is contained within 27,000 HTML pages with over 30,000 index terms. GPnotebook (QUICKmedicine) has been included as a resource on the UK National Electronic Library of Health Virtual Branch Libraries in Primary Care and Emergency Care.

A British Journal of General Practice article written by some of the GPnotebook (QUICKmedicine) authors ( '20 years of GPnotebook: from a medical student project to a national resource') includes some additional information about the development of GPnotebook (QUICKmedicine).


  • the content of GPnotebook (QUICKmedicine) is not to be used for the diagnosis or treatment of medical conditions. The authors have used all reasonable care in compiling the information but make no warranty as to its accuracy. Consult a doctor or other health care professional for diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions. The information contained in this information resource is designed to be used for educational and informational purposes only.


Copyright Oxbridge Solutions Limited 1992-2014.